A Cooking Disaster or Why I Should Move to Cornwall

Today is my birthday, and I got the bright idea to make Cornish Pasties to celebrate. I’ve been craving them for months now, so with Ad here to help me I thought I’d give it a try.

I found a recipe online, and perhaps this was my first mistake. There weren’t many ingredients; flour, salt, butter, beef, onion, and potatoes. The recipe was a bit wonky, w/ tons of different measurements that Ad had to help me convert. The crust recipe was only enough for two pasties, but the filling recipe made enough for four. I used up some pie crust that I had in the fridge, rather than mixing up another sad batch of homemade crust. Somehow, we ended up with 4 regular sized pasties, and one slightly giant one. They looked fine though, very shapely, so we popped them in the oven to cook for 45 minutes.

30 minutes in, the smoke alarm went off. At first I wasn’t too concerned, as this usually happens when I’m cooking. I decided to leave them in for the whole time so the meat would properly cook. Naturally, they burnt. And the insides were kind of dry and boring. The pie crust ones tasted much better than the homemade crust ones, but they were still pretty awful. Ad very nicely ate all of his so as not to hurt my feelings.

What did I learn from this experience? I should just move to Cornwall.

2 thoughts on “A Cooking Disaster or Why I Should Move to Cornwall

  1. Too bad, I’m going to send a forward to your great-aunt, altho she might not read it for weeks. At least you tried–more than I have ever done. Great solution to the problem-go where you can buy them.

Leave a Reply

