A love for all things old, and some family history

My love of old things rivals my love of handmade things. My house is full of tiny antiques (tiny meaning affordable) and vintage goodies. An item with history has so much more character than something new. I can sit down for tea with a vintage cup and saucer, and wonder about who used them before, where they lived, and what kind of person they might have been.  I’m fascinated by my family history and by elders. Old things have so much spirit

While I was home over Christmas, I got a delicious look at my family’s past. For the past several years I’ve been helping my grandma label all of her old photos and arrange them in albums. I snapped a few pictures of my favorites. Here’s my grandpa looking very handsome..

P1020244

And my grandma modeling a dress…

P1020245

And my mom and her sisters as children. The one in the center with the stylin’ glasses is my momma…

P1020246

The real surprise came when my mom showed me a collection of journals that were written over 100 years ago on the family farm. The farm is located just up the road from my house in Nauvoo, PA and is still owned and operated by members of my family. My grandpa grew up there. Someone went through the attic recently and found some old linen cloths, some dresses that my grandpa and his siblings would have worn when they were babies, and the journals.

P1020250

It’s really hard to tell who authored the journals, because they’re written almost entirely in the third person. My theory is that there was not just one writer, but that a few family members of the household contributed, probably whoever was able to find the time. The entries are all short and each one just lists what every one did that day, who came to visit, and what was happening on the farm. I spent a number of hours reading through the journals and typing them up so that there would be a preserved copy to share via e-mail with family members who might not get a chance to see the originals. In the time I was home, I only got through one journal! The pages are very brittle, and the penciled cursive is light and very hard to read in places.

P1020260

P1020251

While reading the journals I was shocked at how neighborly people used to be. There were visitors to the farm almost every day, and many of them stayed for supper or even spent the night. The children of the family were constantly going home with friends after school and sometimes stayed with them for a few days. Trips to visit friends in neighboring towns were not uncommon, and often turned into a 2 or 3 night stay.

Here’s an excerpt from one of the journals:

Jan 12 Tuesday, 1904

Pa Ma and Elmer went out to the Farmers Institute Ma staid out for a couple of days Pa and Elmer staid for evening Mr Moyer shaved shingles Dora and Anna baked cookies and chored around In the afternoon Dora went to Nauvoo The weather was nice nearly all day awful frosty in the morning

As you can see, I’ve left the spelling, grammar, and punctuation as it was originally written. The writer rarely used periods, especially early on in the journal. The Elmer that is mentioned would be my great grandfather, father of my grandpa shown above. Elmer was a boy at the time this was written. I love the use of the words “chored around”. I guess this meant that they just did whatever chores needed done around the barn and house. It’s used very frequently in the journals, almost every day.

P1020254

P1020252

I am so thrilled to have the opportunity to look back and get a glimpse of my family’s past. It’s a chance that most people don’t have and I absolutely cherish it. This is where I came from. This is a giant part of who I am. I’ve been so inspired by the experience that I’m now keeping a journal of my own. The style will be similar, just a few lines about the weather and the happenings. Hopefully I’ll have ancestors who will care enough to read it.

And the next time someone makes fun of me for saying supper instead of dinner, I’ll inform them that it comes naturally to me because my family has been saying it for over 100 years!

P1020253

13 thoughts on “A love for all things old, and some family history

  1. Hi bubby… Hayley’s here. I just wanted to say that I live the picture of my mom and our aunts hahaha… mom saw it and she was like ah BUBBY!!! Ha your blog is very fascinating. And ill read your journal when yer old haha:) miss you and love you lots. Hope to see u in the upcoming summer if not sooner<3333 😀

  2. Wow, that is quite a treasure. I mean, people pay good money to read books from the past that are similar., but fiction. This is way cooler, because it’s real and it’s someone you knew, kind of. I wonder what the true purpose of the journal keeping was? Was it for legal reasons, simply for family history and tradition saving, for safety,???Fascinating! Wish I could find something like this too. Lucky for you, it’s in English. My relatives would have written in another language, just 100 years ago, I imagine. Maybe you can type the whole thing up and have it altered a bit and made into a book! Yes, you should look into it for certain.

  3. Hey Alison, what a cool peek into your family history! I’m pretty fascinated with the early 1900’s right now – just finished reading a book called Elsie: Adventures of an Arizona School Teacher 1913-1916. It’s a compilation of her journals and letters from that time period, put together by her granddaughter. Her journal style was similar to what you described and also showed a very social lifestyle between neighbors. Handwritten letters with her family and friends in CA almost daily and social “calls” in the evenings with local folks…especially a few cowboys who rode miles to enjoy supper with the gals!

  4. The resemblance of your aunt sue as a child and your cousin Bryan is almost freaky.

    I read through all the journals at Thanksgiving. I’m thinking they might have been (at least started out as) an extended homework project as an exercise in writing and spelling. I think the writers were schoolgirls and at the end of the day gathered up the farm news and wrote it down.

    • Haha I know, they could really be twins. And I think you could definitely be write about the schoolgirls writing it. I only made it through one of the journals, but I noticed that part way through they started using periods. At first, the periods are much darker than the writing, like someone went through and added them. Perhaps a parent or teacher made a few corrections, and then from that time one, the writer(s) uses a lot more punctuation.

Leave a Reply

