Running. Sort of.

The weather was finally nice enough to go for a run today, so that’s what I did. Two important notes. First, when I say the weather was nice, I mean that it was above 40°F and most of the ice had melted. It was however, pouring down rain. Second, when I say running, I really mean that I run until I can’t breath (usually about 1 minute if I’m lucky) and then I walk for 5 minutes to catch my breath. I haven’t had the chance to run since last fall, so I’m off to a rough start. But it’s a start none the less!

IMG_7833

Why did I run in the rain? Because I want to be healthy. I really, really want to be healthy. I work in a hospital, so I see sick people all day long. Diabetes, heart disease, dementia, COPD. People who are so overweight that they can no longer walk or put their shoes and socks on by themselves.  It’s all a little terrifying. I don’t want to be that way when I’m old and I want to have energy and feel good right now. I also hate going to the gym, so running in my neighborhood is more my style. I do not need a captive gym audience watching my love handles jiggle.

I’m a curvy woman, and running is hard for me. My nose runs, sweat pours, my fingers puff up, my knees and shins ache, my legs chafe (that’s right, my thighs touch), breathing gets difficult, iron clad sports bras do nothing to keep my boobs in place, my mouth fills up with phlegm, my toes get a little tingly and numb, my entire face turns bright red, and for some strange reason my bottom teeth really hurt. I apologize to any of you who may have just eaten and are now feeling nauseous, but its the truth of the matter.

Why am I telling you this? Four reasons:

1. I’m hoping that it will help to keep me accountable in my quest for good health. By sharing gross things about myself, I’ll feel more inclined to do something about them. I’m not going to tell you how much weight I lose or how many inches come off, because that’s not why I’m doing this. I’ll never be thin, and that’s a-okay. I just want to be healthy.

2. I want to support every other woman (or man!) who is sweatin’ it out in the effort to be a little more healthy. It’s tough. It’s really tough. I still clearly remember one day last fall when an oncoming fellow jogger shouted good job to me as she went past. It wasn’t sarcastic. She could see I was struggling, and she wanted to support me. It was a beautiful thing, and I probably teared up a little at the time.

3. I want this blog post to serve as a friendly reminder not to stare at the next pudgy girl you see jogging. I know it’s hard to look away, but we already know how ridiculous we must appear. There’s no need to remind us.

4. We should all be loving our bodies and taking care of ourselves. Every last jiggly, sticky-outy, cellulite laden bit. While my body is occasionally the source of much frustration, particularly when I’m trying on jeans, I really do love myself. I do wonderful things every day, and my body carries me through it all.

I can do this.

8 thoughts on “Running. Sort of.

  1. Bravo! I’m with you, 100%. I laughed at your description of yourself and still remember when we both considered buying that Lanacane anti-chafing creme. I still think it’s a good idea, but haven’t brought myself to buy it. It’s been warming up here and my neighbor who just had a baby asked me if I wanted to be her running buddy. I am not a runner, but I agreed to be her speed walking, hill climbing partner, and I promised to try to get up to jogging or running by spring. so we are going every weekend, while our husbands babysit during naptime. I would love to keep you accountable, if you will please help me to also be accountable to you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

