Dirt Therapy

I’m ready for spring. I’m tired of school, I’m tired of snow, and I’m tired in general. The sun was shining today, and I had two precious hours of time alone before I had to head to class. I figured it was as good a time as any to start decorating the house for Easter and to   start my seeds inside.

There’s something about playing in the dirt that always makes me feel better, even if it’s just standing at the kitchen table in my pajamas scooping potting soil into tiny paper pots. Feeling the earth is so good for my soul. I had to do a little research to see when the best time to start indoor seeds is in Wisconsin, since this is my first spring here. Most people recommended the middle of March, so I’m only a week early.  This morning I started English Lavender, Chives, Hungarian Wax Peppers, Cilantro, Basil, and Lettuce. Every 3 or 4 weeks I’ll sow another round of Lettuce and Cilantro, so that we have a continuous supply over the summer. I’ve got two kinds of tomatoes to plant as well, but I was worried that if I started them now they would be too big before it was warm enough to set them out.    Unfortunately, space is limited. I’m craving a greenhouse.

With the seeds planted, I began decorating for Easter. It’s one of my favorite holidays so I decorate early to enjoy it longer. When I was young, my family had a giant Egg Hunt each year and I always looked forward to it. I’m talking hundreds of eggs. I love celebrating spring, growth, life, and nature. I’m all about it.

IMG_8105 IMG_8112 IMG_8119 IMG_8120

I’d love some spring, but right now I’ll have to be content with sun and snow.

IMG_8102

 

 

5 thoughts on “Dirt Therapy

  1. You are an incredible writer! And I hear you soul sister, I ache for spring. Dirt therapy is the best kind of therapy, I can’t wait for those little seeds to sprout up for you!

Leave a Reply

