An Easter Walk

After digging through our Easter baskets this morning and munching on some chocolate, we went for a walk in the sun. The weather has finally improved here, and we’re getting some spring temperatures. The lake is still frozen over, but I think that will soon change.

IMG_8345

We passed lots of flowers pushing through the dirt.

IMG_8347

We are lucky to live where we do. Our neighborhood is quite, pretty, and full of friendly people. In the summer and fall there are always boxes on the curb full of free fresh veggies. Today we found a table full of free seeds! I picked out sunflowers, morning glories, oregano, and marjoram. Apparently I’m not very good at growing seeds, since almost all of the ones I started a few weeks ago have succumbed to damping-off, but I’m determined to keep trying. I think I just need to spend money on some good sterilized growing mixture. Maybe next weekend.

IMG_8351 IMG_8350

We ended up at Olbrich Botanical Gardens and Conservatory. It’s only 2 miles from our house, but for some reason we hadn’t gotten there yet. The soggy ground kept us out of the gardens, but the chirping birds called to us from the conservatory! I’m considering places where I could volunteer once I graduate, and this one is now pretty high on my list.

IMG_8402 IMG_8356 IMG_8357 IMG_8358 IMG_8360 IMG_8367 IMG_8370 IMG_8372 IMG_8374 IMG_8375 IMG_8384 IMG_8387 IMG_8389 IMG_8399

Happy Easter to those who celebrate it, and Happy Spring to those who don’t!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “An Easter Walk

Leave a Reply

