Earl Grey and Lavender Shortbread Cookies

I accidently bought more plants today. And by accidently I mean completely on purpose. The proceeds from the plant sale go towards various Madison children’s charities, so I don’t feel too guilty about spending money I don’t have. I came home with a white geranium and a pot of lavender. I tried growing lavender from seed for some silly reason, but it didn’t sprout so I had no choice but to buy some.

DSCN0157

Then I was inspired to bake. I haven’t had time to do much of anything in the kitchen for weeks now, so it was overdue. I decided it was time to use up the Earl Grey and Lavender infused sugar that I had left over from a baking disaster that took place last month. I don’t want to talk about it. Here we go!

Ingredients
2 cups of butter, softened

1 cup of Earl Grey and Lavender infused sugar. Not as fancy as it sounds. Basically you put 1 or 2 tablespoons of Earl Grey loose leaf tea and 1 or 2 tablespoons of dried food grade lavender in a food processor along with 1 or 2 cups of sugar and blend it up for a while. Then, let it sit in a closed container for a day or two (or 4 weeks if you’re me) so that it all mixes nicely together. You could choose to remove the lavender and tea bits before using the sugar, but I left those in. Because I’m lazy, and the bits make the cookies look interesting.

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

4 cups of all purpose flour

1. Cream together butter and sugar until fluffy.

2. Add vanilla, flour, and salt, and mix well.

3. Place dough in refrigerator for at least 30 minutes to chill. It will be way to sticky to roll out if you don’t. I speak from experience.

4. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease a baking sheet.

5. Roll dough out onto a well floured surface, about 1/8 of an inch thick. You can go thicker if you want, just adjust your baking time. You’ll want to make sure your rolling pin is floured too. Over and over again. Flour that baby up. If not, it’s going to stick and you’re going to get upset and you’re going to cry. Again, experience talking here.

6. Cut out your cookies, place on baking sheet, and bake for 10-12 minutes. You have to watch shortbread closely, as it gets brown pretty quickly. I burnt the first pan. And the second pan. I caught on eventually. After taking the cookies out of the oven, I let them sit on the pan for about a minute before moving them to a rack to cool. They’re likely to break if you lift them off right away.

DSCN0162

They’re pretty nice with a cup of tea! You can see that I used my fancy little cookie cutter that Ad got me for Easter. Hangs right on to the mug! Genius.

DSCN0163

4 thoughts on “Earl Grey and Lavender Shortbread Cookies

  1. No far from us is the Norfolk Lavender Centre with a lovely garden centre, but the best bit is the fields full of Lavender, they use it for all kind of things and the smell is just wonderful. Lovely post very English 🙂

Leave a Reply

