Happy Mother’s Day!

“Women are the primary resource of the planet. They give birth, we come from them. They are mothers, they are visionaries, they are the future. If we can figure out how to make women feel safe and honor women, it would be parallel or equal to honoring life itself”.
~Eve Ensler~

A somewhat non-traditional quote for mother’s day, but it speaks to me about the importance of honoring the people who bring life to this earth. Women, and mothers especially, play such an important role in society that is often overlooked and undervalued.

Here’s my own beautiful Momma (you knew this was coming Ma)…

Columbus with Mom and Hayley 047

I don’t have very many photos of my mom, because she usually insists on being the one behind the camera. I’ll have to make a point in the future of getting more pictures of us together. I like this one because it reminds me of the day we spent wandering through a conservatory. I’ve inherited her love of plants, and her smile! I’ve been living away from home now for about 5 years, and me and my mom still talk on the phone every day. I learn so much from her on a regular basis, even if she’s not trying to teach me anything. She lives her life in such a beautiful way, doing what makes her happy, supporting her friends and family however she can, and being kind to people who need a little kindness.

9 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

