Lena’s Potato Dinner Rolls

My grandma’s best friend Lena bakes the best bread. Not only does she bake it, she shares it freely. It’s always a special treat when I visit home, and some of Lena’s dinner rolls magically appear at my grandma’s house. I’ve done some bread baking, here, here, and here, but hadn’t tried dinner rolls yet. I finally wrote to Lena, who gave me her recipe. I know she won’t mind me sharing it with all of you, since she’s such a generous person.

Lena’s Potato Dinner Rolls

Ingredients:
2 packets of yeast, dissolved in 1/2 cup warm water
3 eggs
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup mashed potatoes
1/2 cup butter
3/4 cup warm water
1/2 teaspoon salt
6 cups of flour

1. Measure flour out into a large bowl.
2. Dissolve yeast in 1/2 cup warm water
3. Mix all ingredients together, except for dissolved yeast and flour. Lena suggests using a blender for this part, to make sure that everything is thoroughly mixed.
4. Add dissolved yeast to mixture.
5. Pour wet ingredient mixture over the flour, and mix well.
6. Let mixture rise in the bowl. I covered mine and put it in a cool oven for about half an hour.
7. After first rise, punch the dough down, knead for a minute or two on a floured surface, roll into balls, and place in a lightly greased pan. I decided to make mine dinner roll sized, but you could make bigger ones to use for sandwiches and burgers.
8. Let rise again. I did another half an hour in a cool oven.
9. Bake at 375-400 for 8-10 minutes, until the tops brown. Remove from oven, cool on rack, and brush with melted butter if desired. Of course, I desired the butter.

DSCN0164

It’s like eating a really delicious cloud. Seriously.

DSCN0167

4 thoughts on “Lena’s Potato Dinner Rolls

  1. They look really yummy! Wish I had one now; it’s frigid here. Had snow flurries on and off most of the day.

Leave a Reply

