Granny Crochet Apple Cozy Tutorial

I pack my lunch almost every day, and I hate when my apples get banged up and bruised on the ride to work.  Problem solved! This apple cozy only requires a few stitches, and works up very quickly. I’m using US terms for this tutorial. I used worsted weight yarn, and a 4.25mm hook. You’ll need to know how to do a bobble stitch. For great bobble stitch instructions, go here.

SL ST: Slip Stitch

CH: Chain

DCH: Double Crochet

Here we go!  Start by chaining 4, and joining with a SL ST.

Round 1: CH 3, and then DCH in same stitch.  *CH 1. Bobble stitch.* Repeat 6 times, and join to third stitch of first CH 3 with a SL ST.

IMG_0297

Round 2:  SL ST into next CH 1 space. CH 3, and 2 DCH in same stitch. *CH 1,  3 DCH  in next CH 1 space.* Repeat 6 times, and join to the third stitch of first CH 3 with a SL ST.

IMG_0299

Note: At the beginning of the next few rounds, you’ll be given instructions to SL ST into the next CH 1 space. You do this by SL ST into the tops of each DCH that you made in the previous round, until you make it to the CH 1 space. SL ST into that CH 1 space, and then you are ready to make the starting chain of your next round. It’s difficult to see, but the picture below shows what I mean. I’ve just SL ST into the top of each DCH from the previous round, and have SL ST into the chain one space. I’m ready to chain. 

IMG_0300

Round 3: SL ST into next CH 1 space. CH 3, and 3 DCH in same stitch. *CH 1, and 4 DCH in next CH 1 space.* Repeat 6 times, and join to the third stitch of first CH 3 with a SL ST.

IMG_0303

Rounds 4-6: Repeat Round 3.  Your cozy will start to take shape during these rounds. The edges will start to curl in like this:

IMG_0306

I find it easier to pop my work the other way, so the right side of the stitches are facing me as I work. Like this:

IMG_0307

Now is a good time to plop an apple in there, and make sure your cozy is wide enough. If it seems too small, you might need to start over using a larger sized hook.

IMG_0309

Round 7:  SL ST into next CH 1 space. CH 3, and 2 DCH in same stitch. *CH 1,  and 3 DCH  in next CH 1 space.* Repeat 6  times, and join to the third stitch of the first CH 3 with a SL ST.

IMG_0310

Round 8: Repeat Round 7, but DO NOT SL ST to join. Instead, CH 10, and then turn your work so that the wrong side of your work is facing you. SL ST  into the last DCH that you just made. You’ve just made your button loop.

IMG_0311

IMG_0313

Round 9: SL ST all the way around, into each DCH, and into each CH 1 space. All done! Finish and weave in your ends.

All that’s left is to sew on a button of your choice.

IMG_0314

This is my very first attempt at a crochet tutorial, so I hope the instructions aren’t too confusing. If you do have any questions, or find any mistakes,  feel free to mention it in the comments and I’ll do my best to respond!

IMG_0315

3 thoughts on “Granny Crochet Apple Cozy Tutorial

Leave a Reply

