Can it be?

Has spring finally come?! I was struck by the variety of bird calls I heard this morning when I took the dog out. He unceremoniously woke me up at 6:30 with a cold wet nose to the face. Not very kind considering it’s the weekend. I’ve checked the weather, and we do still have a few chilly days ahead of us, but they are followed again by warmer whether, and I can smell Spring.

IMG_0519

The windows are open, the Easter decorations put out, the crawl space organized and de-cluttered, and the spring quilt is on the bed. Soon I’ll be able to get in some gardening time. And can I just say…..thank God. Really. It always seems like a mini-miracle that spring actually happens, especially after a winter like the bitterly cold one we’ve just had.

IMG_0516

I gloriously spent the whole day in my pajamas, which is when I’m most productive. Stretchy pants are a must for crafting. Two of my coworkers are expecting their first babies in May, so I’m frantically trying to finish some gifts on time. I love the colors of this baby blanket. The pattern is from Attic24, a classic.

IMG_0517

IMG_0518

And I churned out some more wedding bunting! 96 little triangles so far, and many hundreds to go. The wedding is not until June 2015 though, so I’ve got plenty of time. Our reception will be held under a big white tent, and I’m imagining colorful fabric bunting draping back and forth from the tent frame to create a fluttery ceiling.

IMG_0524

IMG_0526

The dog has tried to get in on the crafting action too. You can see that his tail is still bandaged. We believe the  bone has probably healed at this point, but there is still some swelling and tender spots of skin so we’re leaving it wrapped to avoid having the wound reopen when it’s knocked about. We did take the bandage off for an  hour today,  so that the skin could get some air, and we’ll continue to do that until the bandage comes off for good. Baby steps!

IMG_0503

IMG_0508

Skelly is very happy it’s spring. Hope it’s warming up where you are!

6 thoughts on “Can it be?

  1. Snow, sleet,ice and strong winds here; I am staying down at Raneeta’s for another night. was expecting a pic of Skelly, but didn’t see one?

    • I’m glad it came through the second time. We’ve been having trouble with our internet, and somehow when I was fiddling around with it I inadvertently published the post before I meant to. Glad you’re staying down!

Leave a Reply

