Happy Easter!

My posts have been few and far between lately, which can be put down to the good weather and too many crochet projects. I’ve been trying to get some work done in our sad little garden. It’s a good space but it hasn’t been well cared for in years since this house is a rental property. It was covered in many seasons of leaves which I raked up for the city to collect. We most certainly had the largest leaf pile on our street. While raking I discovered 17 pavers mostly buried in the dirt, so I think I’ll be able to make a nice little pathway through the shady part of the garden. I planted some hostas there last year, but I think that’s the only thing that will come up. When it warms up a little more I’ll add some columbines, astilbes, and bleeding hearts. I do love a good shade garden.

IMG_0531

Now that it’s not so chilly, Skelly is loving his daily long walks, which takes up quite a bit of time in the evening. He’s also been romping in the backyard now that Ad fenced it all in. He zooms around so fast in big circles that little chunks of sod fly up in the air. It’s a good thing we’re not very into our lawn, because his flying feet are not kind to it. Here he is post romp, with his tongue flopping about. The first picture is taken up above from the deck. The second is taken from inside the bedroom, behind the screen door. It was so warm yesterday that Ad put Skelly’s bed out on the deck for a few minutes so he could lay in the sun.  We didn’t leave him out there too long though, because greyhounds are fairly susceptible to sunburn.

IMG_0565

IMG_0551

I’m going to have a house full of people for Easter dinner today, which is just as it should be. The menu is a little non-traditional, but it sounds wonderful; Tofurkey, asparagus, squash, deviled eggs, scalloped potatoes, lentil soup with caramelized onions, potato rolls, home made applesauce, and pavlova (with only slightly crumbling meringue) for dessert. The house will also be full of flowers. Mostly bought, because it’s still a little to crisp here for most things to be growing. The whole house is looking suitably springy!

IMG_0534

IMG_0535

IMG_0537

IMG_0539

IMG_0540

IMG_0545

IMG_0547

IMG_0550

I dyed Easter eggs yesterday, which I haven’t bothered to do in many years. I jumped on the natural dye bandwagon, and I’m pretty happy with the results. They look so natural and earthy and perfect. The brick red are yellow onion skins, the grey-blue are blueberries, the faint robin’s egg blue are purple cabbage, the light brownish-green are spinach, and the yellow is turmeric.

IMG_0573

IMG_0574

I’m currently sitting in the bathroom with my laptop and tea while Ad hides Easter Eggs for me. Because I’m 24 years old, and I demand an Easter Egg Hunt.  Real mature, I know. This last picture is courtesy of the little lady who lives next door. I found this bunny in our driveway when I went out back to cut tiny blue flowers. Adorable, and so cheerful.

IMG_0546

I hope you all have a very Happy Easter.

 

7 thoughts on “Happy Easter!

  1. Happy easter, Spike! Sounds like you will have a good one! No pics of chocolate eggs, tho. Is there a reason for that?

  2. Ok Ali, now I need that little crochet bunny for my collection!!!!! My birds(wool ones) are hanging on an old ladder in our living room. They look quite happy there! I assume you made the bunny? Love, A. Sandy

Leave a Reply

