Four Mamas

Today started with a very quiet morning, which is my favorite type of morning. I skipped church (ooops!) to sleep in and then eat blueberry and raspberry pancakes with Ad since this is his last weekend at home before heading to Houston for his 3 month internship. Me and Skelly will be holding down the fort. I spent the rest of the morning digging about in the dirt in the backyard, which made me think of my mom, who is an excellent and energetic gardener. Then I realized that I actually have four mamas, which I think makes me quite lucky.

There’s my one, true, biological mama, who I still call every evening even though I’m almost 25 years old. The tradition started when I moved to Washington for college and was desperately home sick. I think during those first few weeks away from home I probably called her 2 or 3 times a day, because I didn’t know what to do with myself. Those days are over, but I still love talking to my mom. She helps me make sense of things, urges to me to see others’ points of views when I’m maybe being a wee bit selfish, cheers me up when I’m down, and provides daily updates about the land and people who surrounded me for the first 19 years of my life. She’s also always right. I’ve learned this now.

There’s my grandma, who I grew up next doorย to. It’s safe to say that I was a rather difficult child, and I often got shipped to grandma’s house when my mom had had enough. This was fine with me, as I usually got home made cookies and TV time, things that I didn’t have at home. The limited cooking and sewing skills that I have all came from my grandma, but unfortunately I did not got her cleaning gene, and she would be appalled at the current state of my floors. My grandma is usually a pretty quiet person but she has a very good sense of humor, and I’m always tickled by the funny things she says at the most unexpected moments. She’s a beautiful example of a woman aging gracefully. Hopefully she has passed that along to me!

Then there’s my West Coast Mom, who loved me as her own when I was 3,000 miles away from home. We’ve been through some rather trying times together, and I continuously admire the way she handles everything with such grace. She’s wise about the ways of mother nature, and I know when I have a tiny farm of my own someday she’ll be the one I turn to when I need some knowledge.

Last is my soon to be mom-in-law, Ad’s mom. A whole new mom, just waiting to happen! I already know that she’s an awesome lady who’s funny, hip, and quirky, and I’m so excited to learn more about her once I’m an official member of the clan.

There are plenty of other strong and loving women who have had a major impact on my life, but this post would quickly turn into a book if I tried to honor all of them. I’ll move on from the sappy stuff now, to show you what I’ve been up to lately. Remember the baby blanket from ย the last post? I had some yarn left over from that to use up, so I whipped up this little sweater and bonnet for another co-worker who is expecting her first child, a little girl.

IMG_0605

This was my first time making clothing, and I think it turned out fairly well. I tried to make it feel as modern as possible, because I’m not really a fan of the super frilly vintage patterns that there are so many off. I think with little green or yellow leggings it would look quite cute, and not too old fashioned.

IMG_0603

The quality of the photos aren’t great, but as usual, I finished this the evening before I intended to give it away so there was no natural light to work with. Typical. I also made these with the leftovers…

IMG_0606

The two smaller ones have been shipped off to special people, but the bigger one is all mine. I rarely keep things that I make, but I have a little round side table that was calling out for some crafty color.

IMG_0609

Ad and I did something incredibly fun yesterday. We took our first class on bee keeping. Some of you know that my dream is to live in the middle of nowhere, in an old house, on a tiny farm with sheep, geese, chickens, and bees. Sadly this is a long way off, but bee-keeping is something I can do even if we are living in town. Ad is intrigued by bees because they are such social insects, so he’s on board too. As soon as I know what state I’ll be living in next spring and summer, bee keeping preparations will begin. I got a lot out of yesterday’s class, but I know there is still a lot more to learn, so I’ll need to do some studying. I just love the rhythm that comes with keeping bees; the life cycle of the bees, the weather patterns, the honey harvest, the winterizing. It feel so right. And so do these luscious hand-dipped bees wax candles that I bought yesterday from the lady who taught the class. Such a yummy scent and rich color.

IMG_0613

IMG_0615

The weather is so nice today that the little bonsai juniper has moved out to the deck to soak up some sun.

IMG_0617

IMG_0618

Happy Mother’s Day to all you beautiful mamas, aunts, grandmas, sisters, dog moms, cat moms, step-moms, soon-to-be-moms, and trying-to-be moms. You are strong and wonderful and important!

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Four Mamas

  1. very thoughtful blog, Spike. Thanks. Love the little table set for two in the bonsai; I just got home, delivered your card to Mom, and am making a cup of tea. Then I’m going outside to view the estate.

  2. Isn’t it funny how age gives one a different perspective on our parents? Another cute crochet project! What type of yarn did you use on it? And where did you learn to crochet?

    • Thanks Aunt San! I learned basic stitches by watching YouTube videos, and the first tutorials I followed were from attic24.typepad.com. She does a really great job giving step by step instructions. The yarn was Comfy Worsted from knitpicks.com.

  3. I love the crocheted stuff. Can I buy a teapot round from you? Like the rounds you made with the leftovers? I put them under my tea pots and the ones I have are from my grandma and they are crocheted, but are getting old. I need some in my house colors. Let’s talk. ๐Ÿ™‚ Also, hooray for bee keeping. you are helping gardens and plants everywhere by taking care of bees!

Leave a Reply

