Thrifty Therapy

This weekend has been a little emotional because Ad left for his 3 month internship in TX Saturday morning. I’m an emotional person to begin with. I get misty eyed pretty darn easily, and Ad’s departure was no exception. I spent most of the day Saturday in pity party mode, watching copious amounts of Midsomer Murders on Netflix and eating cold pizza in my pajamas. Today I kicked myself into gear, did a bunch of housework, and then hit the thrift stores.

I got these little beauties for next to nothing.  Two cups and saucers, two small snack plates, and two small bowls for $4.00. I don’t know anything about them because there are no markings.

IMG_0619

There is some definite wear on the bottoms that indicates use, but there is no crazing on the glaze and the design seems more modern, so I have no idea how old they are. Mid century modern? Or just modern? They are very similar in shape and feeling to some other mid century china that I have, but I’m too much of a novice to be sure. Either way, I needed them.

IMG_0620

IMG_0621

Some other vintage goodies that I felt I could not do without…

IMG_0641

These might be the silliest thing I’ve ever purchased, but I was instantly charmed by them.

IMG_0637

 

They’re stained, and have some small tears, but they’d be perfect for a shabby chic Christmas display paired with some old bottle brush trees.

IMG_0638

And last but not least, a minty Vernon Kilns Modern California creamer.  The pictures show it as a light blue, but it’s definitely more of a mint green.

IMG_0642

It’s Art Deco, instead of mid-century like most of the other pieces I have, but the color is so perfect that I think it will blend nicely.

IMG_0645

Now for the obligatory Skelly pictures…

IMG_0648

He spends a good part of the day standing right here, watching people outside. Unfortunately he drips and drools on my little terrarium, so please ignore that dirty glass. It’s impossible to keep it clean, but that’s the window with the best light.

IMG_0647

Hope you have a nice week! Skelly and I will be here, ruling the roost.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Thrifty Therapy

Leave a Reply

