Bookish

Is there anything more satisfying than buying books from the comfort of your own couch, on a Saturday morning, in your pajamas, with a cup of tea? I think not.  I read a lot as a little girl. I was an only child and my house was full of books (thanks mom!), so I didn’t really have a choice. In college I no longer had time to read for pleasure. Most evenings my brain was too tired to do anything but stare at the TV before going to bed at a ridiculously early hour. But I have time to read again! Sure I work full time, but there’s nothing I really have to do when I get home at night. No papers to write or journal articles to study. I could do the dishes, or the laundry, or sweep the floors, but none of that is mandatory. Skelly certainly doesn’t care if the dishes pile up.

So I’m on a quest to read more. My goal is to read 50 books this year. I’ve gotten through 12 so far, but then I ran out. I own hundreds of books, but they’re all back home in Pennsylvania. I’ve tried going to the library to check books out, but it just doesn’t feel the same to me. I love seeing books on my shelves. I think they’re beautiful. I want to own them so that if they’re good, I can read them again and again. If they’re no good, I add them to one of Madison’s Little Free Libraries once I’m finished with them, and hope that someone else will enjoy them more than I did.

IMG_0663

 

So far this year I’ve read…

The Day of the Storm, by Rosamunde Pilcher – I love Rosamund Pilcher’s books. Easy to read, a hint of mystery, and they always take place in Cornwall, which is my favorite place on earth.

Little Bee, by Chris Cleave – This is one that I grabbed from a Little Free Library. It’s a  fictional read with some very real examples of the atrocities associated with the Nigerian Oil War. A really interesting book with honest characters that was  important to read, but certainly does not fall into the “feel good” category.

Hooked on Murder (A Crochet Mystery), by Betty Hechtman – Another one from a Little Free Library. And that’s exactly where it went when I was finished with it. Not a fan.

At the Edge of Ireland; Seasons on the Beara Peninsula, by David Yeadon – This is the only non-fiction book I’ve read this year. I usually choose fiction because I like to escape when I’m reading. This book fits that bill perfectly though. I’m pretty darn convinced that I should move to the Beara Peninsula at the earliest opportunity!

Firefly Lane, by Kristin Hannah – Way too sad, and stressful, and emotionally draining. I’ve got a few other books by this author lingering on my shelf, but I just don’t know if I have it in me to read them.

The End of Summer, by Rosamunde Pilcher – Can you tell I really like Rosamund Pilcher?

The Sea Wolf, by Jack London – This is a book that has been on my shelf for a while, and I never really had any interest in reading it. Eventually it was the only thing left to read, so I picked it up and was pleasantly surprised.

Treason at Lisson Grove, by Anne Perry – My kind of book; mystery, period setting, fun to read.

Anne of Green Gables, by L. M. Montgomery – I was a little home sick when I decide to read this. My grandma had the Anne of Green Gables movie, and I remember watching it in her living room.

Leaving Everything Most Loved, by Jacqueline Winspear – I can’t get enough of Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs books. Historical fiction, combined with mystery and a strong female character….yum!

The Cater Street Hangman, by Anne Perry – Are you sensing a theme? If it’s set in England, in the past, and somebody’s been murdered, I’m all in.

Endless Night, by Agatha Christie – Probably the strangest Agatha Christie book that I’ve ever read, and I’ve read a lot of them. It didn’t feel like quintessential Agatha to me, but I had a great time reading it. There was a twist at the end that I was definitely not prepared for.

IMG_0657

I’d love to hear your suggestions of what I should add to my reading list! What is your favorite book? Why?

 

9 thoughts on “Bookish

  1. Your love of Rosamunde Pilcher books reminded me of my mom who loved to read her books too. She had tons of them but they are all gone now. Mom was a serious reader but she sure enjoyed hers. Good luck on your mission!

  2. I also like R. Pilcher and have several. And I am reading Anne Perry right now. I got the first book in the Wm Monk series at a book sale and I am borrowing the next 2 from the Wellsboro library. I just finished a book set in Cornwall, similar to Rosamunde Pilcher, I will send it your way. I really like Circle of Friends by Meave Binchy.

  3. If you like to read out of your comfort zone try Kurt Vonnegut’s Galapagos! Brilliant zany futuristic sea-faring tale of magic realism (sort of!) Or any of Herman Hesse’s novels; Siddhartha is the most lyrical.

Leave a Reply

