Mallory’s Banana Bread

Believe it or not, I didn’t make banana bread for the first time until I was in college. One of my best friends Mallory shared here recipe with me, and it’s the one I’ve been using ever since. It’s a very forgiving recipe, as you’ll see below. I’ve found myself with a surplus of brown bananas. My supervisor and her family don’t like bananas once they start to brown, so she’s taken to plopping them on my desk once they’re past the point where her family wants to eat them. I’m never one to turn down free food. Life hands you brown bananas…make banana bread!

IMG_0672

Ingredients:

1/2 c granulated sugar

1/2 c brown sugar

1/2 c applesauce

2 eggs (or 1/2 c greek yogurt if you’re out of eggs like I was, 1/4 c of yogurt =1 egg)

1 c mashed bananas (2 or 3 bananas, I usually eyeball and skip the measuring)

1 tsp. baking soda

2 c flour (I didn’t check prior to baking to see if I had all the ingredient. You’d think I’d learn! I didn’t have any regular all purpose flour. I ended up using mostly bread flour, and then  1/4 c of masa, or corn flour, when the bread flour ran out. It tastes just fine.)

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 c walnuts (if ya want)

 

1. Pour all ingredients into the bowl and beat with an electric mixer until combined and banana chunks have all been smoothed out.

2. Pour into a greased and floured loaf pan.

3. Sprinkle with nutmeg, cinnamon, and sugar if you like.

4. Bake at 350° for 45 min to 1 hour, until toothpick or knife inserted into loaf comes out clean.

5. Cool (or not) and eat!

 

IMG_0675

 

 

14 thoughts on “Mallory’s Banana Bread

  1. I will have to try this one, but I love brown bananas, it comes from your Great Grandfather Jack Spanner, he loved them when they were nearly black……but I will I try…..I actually made a lemon drizzle cake yesterday……1st time and there is none left 🙂

      • It was, for a Ist attempt it was really good, I do not cook, Steve does all the cooking, but I have started to take an interest in baking….never too late to start 🙂 So I will be going through your list with interest to see what I can make LOL 🙂

      • We had haggis salad tonight 🙂 Which is slices of fried haggis with salad, quite tasty. Will you get to see Ad at all during the summer.

      • I’ve never had haggis. What’s the flavor like? Ad will probably be home once or twice, so I won’t have to go all summer w/out seeing him. I can’t complain too much, because at least I get to talk to him everyday. If he’s doing field work he doesn’t always have cell service, so I’m used to going a few days between phone calls.

      • I’m not sure if you would like haggis, its like mince meat with offal and spices etc and then they make into an oval shape, its Scottish and you can boil it or fry it, we like it, but then we like offal, not a lot of people do. Well thats something to look forward to his visits and good you get to speak to him on the phone. When Uncle Steve was at sea we had to speak by letter and maybe the odd phone call when the boat dock at a port, but that was a long time ago :).

Leave a Reply

