A Big Long Birthday

As of last Tuesday, I am officially a quarter of a century old. I wasn’t really looking forward to my birthday this year, because I knew I’d be spending it alone. It turned out quite nice though, so I was pleasantly surprised. I worked on my birthday, but spent all evening talking to family and friends on the phone and opening packages and cards that had been mailed to me. Thursday night I went to my favorite bar for drinks with friends.  Saturday I treated myself to my first ever massage, ate ice cream for lunch (cause I can!), and then spent the rest of the day with a good friends who where visiting town. We took Skelly to a jazz festival, which he did not like.  I also hit up the neighborhood yard sales, but all I came home with was an heirloom purple tomato. I bought it from a little boy who regularly has a stand outside of his house where  he sells home made cookies and little plants. He gives all the money to a fund which helps to save sea turtles. Melts my heart every time! This tomato will match the other 5 tomatoes I have on my deck. One person does need 6 tomato plants you know. I can’t help it. They’re my favorite. I even like the way the leaves smell.

IMG_0753

Today I skipped church and worked on the deck garden most of the morning. The squirrels are really doing a number out there, digging around in the pots and throwing dirt out. They squashed one portulaca completely, but this one lives on.

IMG_0710

I came in from the deck to find Skelly fast asleep on the bed. He’s usually not allowed up there, especially if he hasn’t had a bath in a while, but I let him stay today. He’s been whiny all day, I think the two hours spent hitting the yard sales followed by the jazz concert yesterday really took it out of him.

IMG_0750

Look at that face. How could I kick him off?

IMG_0739

I also got started on a new crochet project, a granny square afghan. I love these cool colors.

IMG_0755

 

I sent my dad some chocolate chip cookies for Father’s Day to make up for the horrible marmite flavored ones I sent him last year. He likes marmite, but he does not like marmite cookies. No sane person would. Anyway, these chocolate chip cookies are the best I’ve ever made. It was one of those recipes that I found on pinterest that claims to make the perfect cookies. I was skeptical, but I needn’t have been. They’re freaking fantastic.

Happy Father’s Day to all the dads out there!

3 thoughts on “A Big Long Birthday

Leave a Reply

