Fed Up…..but not really

This past week I was annoyed with almost everything. My job. My stuffy little house that won’t stay cool no matter how much the air conditioner runs. My broken washing machine. The fruit flies that won’t quite go away no matter how clean I keep the kitchen. The squirrels who have stolen and eaten half of an heirloom tomato, destroyed the only sunflower I had blooming, and dug up the lettuce seeds every single time I sowed them. The blight that seems to be stealing my lovely tomato plants, one at a time. My squeaky bed which wakes me up every single time I turn over at night. The crochet project I’ve started and pulled apart three times. The mosquitoes, the lake flies, the chiggers, the humidity….

Nothing is quite as I want it to be, which is a frustrating feeling. Change is coming, but it cannot be hurried. And I am not a patient person.

So I did what any normal person with unhealthy coping skills does. I made a cake. I probably should have gone for a run or done some yoga or taken a bubble bath or read an inspirational magazine article that reminded me that my life is not so bad (which is completely true, I really have no right to complain), but I didn’t. I just made a cake. The best pity parties always have cake. Lemon Drizzle Cake to be precise. The recipe is right here. It’s from the UK, so I’ve included the ingredient conversions that I used below for any of my American readers who might want to give this a go. They’re not exact, but the cake turned out delicious.

125g butter = 1 1/8 cup butter room temp butter

175g caster sugar =  3/4 cup super fine sugar, or 3/4 cup granulated sugar that’s gone through the food processor. I can never find super fine sugar around here.

Grated rind and juice of 2 lemons

2 beaten eggs

175g self-rising flour = 1 2/3 cup self-rising flour, or 1 2/3 cup regular flour mixed with 2 tsp baking powder and 3/4 tsp salt.

4 Tbs Milk

50g granulated sugar = 1/4 cup granulated sugar

IMG_0823

I hate when my blog posts are completely negative, so I’ll quickly reassure you that things really aren’t all that bad at the moment. I’m in a bit of a rut, but that happens. I did get my very first ripe tomato this week which was just glorious, and a tiny little sunflower is now blooming. The birds planted them for me, straight from the bird feeder. I got some letters from old friends, and did fun things with new friends. I got more wedding plans taken care of. There isn’t much more wedding planning I can do this early in the game. Flowers, venue, dress, decorations, music, and photographer are pretty much taken care of. The only thing I’m waiting on now is a response from a possible caterer.

IMG_0821

IMG_0818

And Ad will be home in 3 weeks!

 

5 thoughts on “Fed Up…..but not really

  1. To help with those annoying fruit flies, put a little apple cider vinegar in a small bowl add a couple of drops of dish soap and sit back and watch them drown. 🙂

  2. Last year I had a fruit fly invasion. Tia told me about this method. Take a jar and put some fruit in it, then use a small neck funnel to cover the opening. They go in, but cannot figure how to get back out. I used a couple slices of banana(any fruit will do) and it took a week or so, plus I changed the fruit when it got really gross. Worth a try if the vinegar does not work.

Leave a Reply

