Good Eats

I love food. I was talking to a friend today about how good food can be, and what a big role it plays in our society. We talked about the importance of sharing meals, and how fixing a meal for someone is a time honored way of showing love.

The last few weeks have been rough, and I haven’t been feeling well, so I decided to show myself some love with a delicious breakfast this morning. I rarely cook, and especially not breakfast. I’m a ‘Greek yogurt with fruit and granola’ kinda gal most mornings, but I needed a treat. So I made this….

IMG_0829

Asparagus and Egg Tart with Goat Cheese. I pretty much followed the recipe found here, although I added some zucchini since I had some in the fridge that needed to be used. The egg makes for a nice filling breakfast.

Speaking of sharing food, it won’t be long before I have enough tomatoes to start sharing with the folks at work. Here is today’s mini harvest.

IMG_0839

Tomatoes fresh and sun-warmed from the garden are by far my favorite vegetable. I can eat those puppies like they’re candy.

IMG_0840

And by coincidence, my finger nails match!

IMG_0850

I have to tell you about my new favorite food related thing. I hate the waste that comes with using saran wrap, foil, and plastic baggies. You use it once, and throw it away (or wash the baggies a few times to re-use them if you’re me). It doesn’t feel good. Enter Bee’s Wrap. A sustainable and reusable alternative, made from fabric coated with a thin layer of beeswax.The warmth of your hands is just enough to mold the fabric and create a seal, either to the rim of a bowl or to itself.

IMG_0842

I’ve been eyeing this stuff for a while, and I’m so glad I finally ordered some. I’ve been using it since the day I got it, either in the fridge or in my lunch pail which goes to work with me daily.

IMG_0843

One sheet will last for up to a year if regularly rinsed with cold soapy water. The best part might be the yummy beeswax smell. I promise no one has paid me for this rave review. It’s just such a simple, effective, earthy friendly idea.

IMG_0848

IMG_0849

 

Do you have a favorite summer recipe? Or something that you make for yourself when you need a little extra love?

8 thoughts on “Good Eats

    • Not that I’ve noticed. It might if it got too warm at some point, like if you left it in a hot car or something. But I’ve wrapped some cheese in it to take to work and it was just fine!

  1. Wow, this bee’s wrap stuff… what a great idea! I’ll definitely have to give it a try.
    Also, I’m loving the nail polish 🙂

Leave a Reply

