I’m Pouting…

…Because I took Ad to the airport again today. He’s going to the Italian Alps for fieldwork. THE ITALIAN ALPS. Some people have it rough. So I’ve done what I usually do on the days I take Ad to the airport: eat copious amounts of ice cream, crochet, bake, and watch TV. That’s actually most days, but whatever.

IMG_0880

Here’s what I’ve been churning out….

Some super cute hats for some super cute kiddos.

IMG_0874

Can you tell I’m ready for fall? I just love this sweet little pumpkin beanie.

IMG_0876

And this one is for me! Using some delicious wool yarn that my grandma gave me.

IMG_0877

It’s of my own design, with a really simple construction of 8 granny squares joined to create a tube, and then cinched at the top with a pom pom to finish it off. I’d be wearing it right now if it weren’t disgustingly hot and humid.

IMG_0879

This afghan is still in construction. I have several more circles to make, and then each one will get edged in white, turning it into a granny square.

IMG_0869

I’m hoping to keep this too, when it’s finally finished. It’s been a work in progress for months now. I have a hard time doing just one project at a time because I get too bored, so I tend to pick things up and put them down as the spirit moves me.

IMG_0872

And because an entire pint of ice cream wasn’t enough, I made some banana bread. As usual, I didn’t have exactly the right ingredients. I was missing two eggs. I turned to the internet for a solution and found that you can use 1 tablespoon of ground flax seed mixed with 3 tablespoons of water as a substitute for 1 egg. For reasons I can’t recall, I have a large amount of ground flax seed, so I tried this out. I also threw in some shaved up bits of baking chocolate that I had left over from something else.

Delicious. I swear I gain 5 lbs every time Ad goes away.

 

8 thoughts on “I’m Pouting…

  1. Love the colours of the afghan. Its getting cooler here, we have just finished building the framework of a large poly tunnel and hopefully get the cover on today, as is a bank holiday here today. Hope Ad is not away to long and Skelly is fine now 🙂 xxx

    • Thanks aunt Lynne, he’s only gone for three weeks this time and Skelly seems right as rain now. I wish it was getting cool here, but I think we have another month of warm weather before it starts to feel like fall.

      • Oh thats good, not so long this time, we have had rain all day, so poly tunnel didn’t get finished, was suppose to have been finished months ago, but with the rain and then recently the garden was flooded, so fingers crossed next weekend. Glad Skelly is fine, Nancy nearly died a bout a month ago, she had to have her womb taken away, infact if we had left it for a few days she would have died, but she fine now, tearing around like a mad thing. Our neighbour who rescues dogs is going to look after them, when we come over, so we know they will be fine. We are going to Wales in about 3 weeks, just hoping we get an Indian summer, but we have heating in the motor home so we should be ok 🙂 Love Aunt Lynne x

  2. Hi darling East Coast Daughter. I just adore you. I’m a tad envious of your amazing talent. Great skill and artistry in your various needleworks. Wonderful baker and gardener. Sure would have liked to have been so fabulous when I was in my 20’s. I am having such fun following your blog. Those autumn hats are just tooooo adorable, and so are you! Love and hugs from your West Coast Mom.

    • Awww thank you Sally! You make my heart sing. When I was talking to Emily last week I was telling her that I craved a visit to see my west coast mom, your house always feels like a vacation destination to me!

Leave a Reply

