Quiche to Clear the Fridge

I like quiche. It’s easy to make, yummy to eat, and fairly nutritious depending on what you put in it. We usually eat it for lunch, but it also makes a great breakfast heated up in the toaster oven. I usually find myself making it when I have various bits and bobs in the fridge that need to be eaten before they go bad. I’m on a quest to waste no food, so I made a quiche this past week to use up some asparagus and dill that had seen better days. I dare say it was the most delicious one I’ve made yet, so I thought I’d share with you!

I’ll start with the basic broccoli quiche recipe that I always use.

Ingredients

1 frozen pie crust (or you can go the home made route if you’re superman/woman)

10 oz frozen, chopped, broccoli

2 Tbs melted butter

1 c milk

3 eggs, beaten

1 Tbs flour

salt to taste

pepper to taste

 

1. Bake your pie crust at 400° F  for 10 minutes.

2. While crust is baking, combine all other ingredients in a large bowl, and stir until mixed.

3. Pour mixture into baked pie crust, and put back in the oven at 375°F for 45-60 minutes. It’s done when the top gets golden brown and a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

 

Easy right? You can follow the directions above and find yourself with a tasty quiche, or you can take it to the next level by using up some of the produce you’ve got hanging out in the fridge. For this quiche, I added the following ingredients to the recipe above…

 

1/2 onion, diced

3 sprigs of dill, torn into small pieces

handful of chopped asparagus

1 extra egg (to keep the “egg to goodies” ratio the same)

 

I ran out of room in my pie crust since I added extra ingredients, so I poured the mixture that wouldn’t fit in the pie into a small baking dish, and made a little frittata!  That won’t need to bake for as long as your quiche, so do keep an eye on it.

IMG_1250

Now the next time you’ve got veggies in your fridge that are on their way out, throw em’ in a quiche!

 

6 thoughts on “Quiche to Clear the Fridge

Leave a Reply

