Apple Dumplings

There is nothing healthy about these apple dumplings. Well there are the apples, but they’re covered in sugar and surrounding by pie crust, so I think that pretty much cancels out any nutritional value they might have. But they’re good for your soul. This recipe is from my grandma, whose apple dumplings are famous in our family. Apple dumpling night is a big deal. Making these is a teensy bit time consuming, but not at all difficult. This recipe makes about 6 dumplings, depending on the size of your apples.

IMG_1301

Ingredients

5 c flour

2 c shortening

salt

water

6 Granny Smith apples (or other good baking apples)

1/2 c sugar, plus some for sprinkling

Cinnamon

Butter

1. Cut each apple in half, core it, and peel it. Peeling is the worst part of this entire process in my opinion. I have great hopes of someday wielding a paring knife with the same skill as my grandma, but I’m not there yet!

2. In a large bowl, combine flour, shortening, a pinch of salt, and begin mixing with a pastry cutter. Add in water a little at a time, and continue mixing with pastry blender, until dough becomes the right consistency to roll out and wrap around an apple w/out splitting. I usually test a tiny ball in my hand, squish it flat, and see if I can bend it w/out it breaking.

3. Roll out dough on a floured surface, no more than 1/8″ thick. You want the shape to be roughly square.

4.  Squish a tablespoon of butter between your two apple halves, and place in the center of your dough square. Sprinkle with cinnamon and an un-healthy dose of sugar. Go big or go home!

IMG_1310

IMG_1309

5. Take the dough and gently wrap your apple up like a present, using a little water rubbed on the dough as “glue” to hold your tasty present together at the top.

6. Place dumplings in a baking dish, and bake uncovered @ 400°F for 10 minutes, and then at 350°F for 5 minutes.

IMG_1312

7. While the dumplings are in their first round of baking, make the glaze. Heat 1/2 c sugar, 1/2 c water, and some cinnamon on the stove, stirring until the sugar has dissolved.

8.  Pour the glaze over the dumplings, and return them to the oven to bake for another hour at 350°F. 

IMG_1314

Kinda finicky, but not that hard, right? Make sure you scoop out the goo that’s left in the bottom of the pan, and add it to your dumpling. That stuff is gold. My grandpa and I always eat our apple dumplings with cold milk poured over them, but apparently that’s not normal. Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Apple Dumplings

    • Glad to know I’m not the only one who eats them with milk! I’d love to get see you the next time I’m home, I haven’t even met Harlee yet. We’ll be home around Christmas, so maybe I’ll have a chance to come visit then.

Leave a Reply

