Bookish II

My quest to read 50 books by 2015 continues. I think it’s pretty safe to say that I won’t make my goal, since I’ve only read 13 books since my last post on this topic back in May. That brings the grand total to 25, which is only halfway to my goal. Still, I feel quite proud. Maybe I’ll make a fresh start in January, shooting for 50 books again. This year I started in May, so I missed a few valuable reading months!

IMG_1318

Here’s what I’ve read since the last post:

Gone West, a Daisy Dalrymple Mystery, by Carola Dunn – This was a fun mystery, and would be a hit with anyone who enjoys the Maisie Dobbs series by Jacqueline Winspear. The time frame is the same (1920s) and they both feature a strong female lead.

Possesion, by A.S. Byatt – This book took me a while to get through. It was more difficult to read than most of the books I choose, but has a really interesting story line with some unexpected turns. There’s quite a bit of poetry involved, which was a good challenge for me as it’s not what I usually read.

The Grand Tour: Around the World with the Queen of Mystery, Agatha Christie, edited by Mathew Prichard – I’m a huge Agatha Christie fan, so this compilation of her letters written while on a 10 month world tour was really fun to read.

The Clocks, by Agatha Christie – Classic Poirot, although pretty light on the Poirot. He pops in at the end to save the day, but isn’t very present throughout the book.

The Orchid House, by Lucinda Riley – This book spans various eras and countries, and is full of twists and turns. It was long, but I stayed interested right until the end.

The Face of a Stranger, by Anne Perry – Books by this author are always a fast and enjoyable read for me. Great material to escape into for a few hours.

Flight Behavior, by Barbara Kingsolver – This is one of the best books that I have read in a while. It was easy to read, like the mysteries I tend to cruise through, but it had more depth to it. I grew to love the main character, a young Appalachian mother and wife who doesn’t quite feel that she fits into her own life. I also learned a surprising amount about the life cycle and habits of the monarch butterfly.

A Week in Winter, by Marcia Willett – I really loved some of the main characters in this book. The plot felt a little too contrived to be realistic, but I enjoyed reading it because of the characters and the setting (England!).

The Orchardist, by Amanda Coplin – Oh my word. I loved this book. I picked it up completely by chance out of a Little Free Library, and thank goodness I did. I fell in love with almost all of the characters, and they just spoke directly to my heart. This will be a book I read over and over again. I believe this is the author’s first novel, and I’m desperately waiting for her next.

The Abyssinian Proof, by Jenny White – This book is set in time periods and places that are very unfamiliar to me, so that alone made it interesting. There was crime and history all rolled into one, which I’m always a fan of.

A Darker God, by Barbara Cleverly – The back cover of this book claimed it was ideal for those who enjoy Jacqueline Winspear and Agatha Christie, and I agree! Murder mystery, 1920 Athens, strong female protagonist, definitely a fun read.

Death Comes to Pemberly, by P.D. James – No surprise that this was right up my alley.

The Thirteenth Tale, by Diane Setterfield – Oh gosh. I devoured this book. Three evenings spent in the bathtub (the best place to read, right?) and it was done. It ended too soon. This book drew me in so much, that I found myself thinking about it throughout the day, when I was busy around the house. Crazy, right?! Just read it.

IMG_1320

I want to thank all of you for the great reading suggestions that you gave me after the last book post. Once I’ve read through the books I have currently, I’ll do my best to stretch myself and read some of your recommendations. It can only be a good thing to try reading in new directions. On that note, do let me know of any other books you think I should read.

And an even bigger thank you to those of you (you know who you are) who actually sent a few books for me to dig into!

IMG_1321

 

Happy reading…

 

4 thoughts on “Bookish II

  1. well, here’s the list: Thirteenth Tale,A Darker God,The Orchardist,The Grand Tour,Possession, and Gone West–only if you have the room, tho.

Leave a Reply

