Thanksgiving Leftovers Casserole

I made way too much food for Thanksgiving. Delicious, delicious food. If I don’t get creative, we’re going to be eating warmed up turkey and mashed potatoes for ever. So I flipped through a Betty Crocker cookbook, and found a recipe for Chicken Veggie Casserole that looked sort of doable with what I had in the house. The following recipe is based on the Betty Crocker one, with several alterations based on the ingredients I had at hand, with an addition or two as well. I realize this is nothing groundbreaking, but I am new to the world of cooking and of casseroles. As a child I hated when my food was mixed together, and I would have rather gone hungry (rather a strong statement coming from me) than consumed casserole. I know many good cooks who would come up with this all on their own, w/out inspiration from any recipe, but I’m just not there yet.

Ingredients

1 can condensed Cream of Anything soup (mushroom, cheddar, whatever you’ve got) – I used cream of cheddar

1 c. milk

2 c. chopped veggies – Any combo you like, this would be a great way to use up leftover broccoli, green beans, etc. Our leftover veggies were already gone, so I used some corn, peas, and lima beans from the freezer.

1 small yellow onion, chopped

1  1/2 c. cooked, cut up turkey or chicken

Any amount of leftover mashed potatoes

2 c.  Bisquick

1/4 c. bread crumbs

2 Tbs mayo

1 egg

Salt

Pepper

Crushed Red Pepper Flakes

 

1. Mix soup and milk in a sauce pan until boiling, stirring continuously. 

2. Once boiling, remove from heat and add chopped veggies, onion, and turkey.

3. Pour mixture into non-greased casserole dish, and top with crumbles of mashed potato. I probably used about 1 1/4 c. total, but you could do more or less.

4. In medium bowl, mix the Bisquick, bread crumbs, mayo, and egg until crumbly. Add salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper to taste.

5. Sprinkle Bisquick mixture over casserole.

6. Cook uncovered for 25 min at 400 F, until top is golden brown and soup bubbles up around the edges.

IMG_1428

Not very healthy, and certainly not very pretty, but easy and comforting and perfect for a chilly day.

IMG_1432

Does anyone have any favorite Thanksgiving leftover recipes? If so, please share them with us all in the comments section!

 

One thought on “Thanksgiving Leftovers Casserole

  1. I just made a big pot of turkey barley soup with the turkey Mom sent home with me. No recipe, just stock,barley,carrots,onions carmelized in olive oil, cabbage, and some herbs–I think I used parsley, thyme, and a bay leaf. Tasted yummy.

Leave a Reply

