Pecan Spice Muffins

Since we’re moving in mid-February, and will be away from home for the rest of this month and all of January, I’m doing my best to use up what we have in the kitchen. I hate wasting food, which means I end up eating some pretty strange meals. For example, I had milky rice for lunch today, to use up some leftover white rice that had come with our Chinese food a few days ago. For those who don’t know, milky rice is the ultimate comfort food: white rice cooked in milk with copious amounts of sugar and cinnamon added. I think it’s an acquired taste, because Ad hates it, but I can’t get enough. My mom and grandma used to make it for me whenever I was sick, or sleepy, or upset, which seems to be most of the time when you’re a child.

Anyway, these muffins are the result of the kitchen clear out. They are very loosely based on the “7 Grain Cranberry Muffin” recipe that is found on the back of the Bob’s Red Mill Organic 7 Grain Pancake and Waffle Mix. Mmmmmmm, pancakes.

I honestly just went through the cupboard and dumped whatever spices sounded good into this. It resulted in a very hearty and moist muffin that is spicy and not overly sweet. These little guys are pretty filling.

Ingredients:

1/2 c sugar

1/2 c applesauce

1 tsp vanilla

2 Tbsp veggie oil

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground nutmeg

1/4 tsp ground allspice

Pinch of ground cloves

Pinch of cardamom

A few pinches of Chinese Five Spice

2 Tbsp poppy seeds

1/2 c milk

1/2 c water

2 c Bob’s Red Mill Organic 7 Grain Pancake Mix

1/2 c pecan pieces

2 Tbs ground flax

 

1. Combine all ingredients and stir, just until mixed.

2. Fill the cups of a greased muffin pan 2/3 of the way full. I used muffin papers and they stuck hard core, so I think a greased pan is the way to go.

3. Bake at 350 degrees F, for 20-25 minutes.

4. Cool on wire rack, and then consume! Makes 12 muffins.

IMG_1682

Besides the delicious taste, the best part about these muffins is that making them only dirties one bowl. One bowl! Be still my beating heart. Big bonus for someone like me who doesn’t have a dishwasher and despises washing dishes. Seriously. Sometimes the sole reason I have for not baking something is that doing so would require me to wash dishes. Lazy? I should say so.

IMG_1684

Yum! These would be an absolute dream with apple butter or honey butter on them, or with chocolate chips mixed in (Ad’s idea!). But I didn’t have any of those things, so I ate them naked. The muffin was naked. I was not naked. Although if any of you do eat muffins in the nude that’s totally fine by me!

2 thoughts on “Pecan Spice Muffins

Leave a Reply

