Brazos Bend State Park

Hiking in South-Eastern Texas is not what I’m used to. There is almost no elevation, so it’s really more like ‘long walking’ rather than hiking, and you don’t get any sweeping views. The bugs are giant, and they make strange noises. Your eyes are constantly scanning back and forth on gator watch. And dear lord is it ever hot. I’m a sweaty person to start with. I come from a sweaty family. We are a sweaty people. But I got sweatier today than I ever have in my life. My eyeballs were sweating.

But it was beautiful, in it’s own swampy way.

IMG_2680 IMG_2684 IMG_2686 IMG_2688 IMG_2689 IMG_2692 IMG_2693 IMG_2695 IMG_2698 IMG_2706

There were loads of beautiful wild flowers, like the Evening Primroses below.

IMG_2699 IMG_2683IMG_2700

Herbertia

IMG_2682

Yellow Thistle

IMG_2701

And Japanese Honeysuckle, which Ad tasted…

IMG_2705

This hike was gator free (to my relief, and Ad’s dismay) but there was a snake siting. I think it was a western cottonmouth, which can be deadly. Thank god I didn’t know this when we were carefully skirting around it on the trail in an effort to make it back to the car before the rain started.

Note to self: Buy a snake bite kit!

13 thoughts on “Brazos Bend State Park

  1. I for one hate all snakes good or bad. But enjoy the flat land while you are there. Beautiful flowers and trees.

Leave a Reply

