Is it Fall Yet?

Obviously not, because I live in Satan’s armpit. I don’t know if fall even happens in Houston, but so help me God, it will happen in my house! Seriously. I’m already planning the decorations for my Thanksgiving dinner table. Summer is nice, but I’m done with it. As a pasty northerner, I’m done with the sun and the heat and the sweating and the squinting and the sunglasses and the constant impulse to seek air conditioning. I’ve been told August is the hottest month, so I’m pretty pleased that we’re nearing the end of it. I’m ready to feel a little bit chilly, and see my breath in the mornings, and cozy up in the evenings, and bust out the chunky sweaters, and rock my tall black boots. I’ve already started my fall routine of sipping hot stuff at night. I even replenished my hot chocolate supply! I’ve been wanting to try making home made marshmallows. Nothing better to fancy up my store brand hot chocolate like a great big home made marshmallow! I made peppermint flavored ones, since mint is always yummy with chocolate. And how cute is the packaging of this peppermint extract? So vintage looking. The company started in 1888, and moved from Michigan to Texas in 1905. Way cooler to buy from a 127 year old company than boring old Kroger brand! I think I’m going to try pumpkin pie spice marshmallows next.

IMG_0124

IMG_0148

The dog is ready for fall too. He hates the heat, and the sidewalks get too hot for his little tootsies. Here he is, looking wistfully autumnal. A dog after my own heart. He helps me read on the bed in the evenings. See that teensy postage stamp quilt above the bed? I have ideas for a quilt post coming up soon!

FullSizeRender (4)

FullSizeRender (3)

FullSizeRender (1)

I think my craving for Fall was triggered by all the cold weather crochet projects I’ve been working on. I’m crocheting pieces for two craft shows, both of which take place in cold weather time, so my little mind is full of scarves and hats and shawls and gloves and warm socks. I’ve always got a blanket or two on the go as well.

IMG_0132

IMG_0133

My current work in progress will be all mine! This isn’t often the case. I’m usually making things to sell or gift. My phone croaked last month, so I was forced to get a replacement which I have named Phonessa. Because I’m 8 years old and I have to name all of my possessions. I hate getting new phones, because I feel like I’ve only just figured out how to use the old one. I’m woefully tech-stupid for a 26 year old, but life goes on. I ordered a phone case that you can cross stitch on, and pulled a quick pattern from the web, and soon I will have the most adorable phone case ever. I’m really pleased with how it’s coming along, but Lord is it ever hard. My needle is bent, and I’ve drawn blood several times. Not like stitching on linen at all. I have to turn the case over fairly often to see where to push the needle through for the next stitch because I can’t feel it like I can with linen. It probably won’t wear well either, but I guess I could take the time to pick it all out with a seam ripper and stitch a new pattern if it gets grungy enough. Or…not. If you look closely at the picture below you will see that (a) the dog is not impressed and (b) I am rocking some pretty worn out jim-jams. Keeping it real!

IMG_0138

Of course, thinking about fall always makes me feel like baking. Actually almost everything makes me feel like baking. I like sugar. I think you all know that. I was so disappointed that the figs on our baby fig tree never ripened properly, so I jumped on a pack of ripe figs that I saw at Costco, with the idea that I needed to turn them into something sweet. Cause that’s how I roll. Although I love them fresh as well. I found a recipe for fig scones here, and they turned out really well. The fig flavor isn’t overwhelming, which is good since Ad has mixed feelings about figs. If I make them again, I might try adding some extra spices. Maybe cardamom or Chinese five spice.

IMG_0111

FullSizeRender (5)

IMG_0122

Now, time to walk the dog. It’s 90 degrees out. I’ll be waiting a while for fall.

4 thoughts on “Is it Fall Yet?

  1. I’m right there with you about fall; my fav time of year, even tho the gardens look a little ratty. I’m planting hypertufa troughs to smarten the place up for your arrival.

  2. I don’t know how you can cross stitch on linen! I prefer aida any time! Phone case is looking good! Such a neat idea!

Leave a Reply

