A Vintage Christmas…Sorta

I love vintage things, but unless I make some lucky  finds, I can’t usually afford them. I was spoiled with great thrift stores when we were living in Madison. Houston thrift stores leave something to be desired. The ones with the good stuff are in trendy neighborhoods, so they’re pricey because of location. The thrift stores else where just seem to have junk, the kind of stuff that I can’t imagine people actually wanting to spend money on, but maybe I’m wrong!

FullSizeRender (8)

FullSizeRender (13)

Anyway, I’ve got a faux vintage Christmas thing going on this year. Since I can’t afford the real deal – I’m making it myself! I started with these funky little diorama style ornaments which I found a tutorial for here. And I love them!

IMG_1094

Some of the trees and tiny presents I bought at Michael’s on sale after last Christmas, and the other bits came from an Etsy shop called RedStarVintage, including these kinda cute but mostly terrifying fat little snow humans that I haven’t used yet. What is that?!

I ordered these vintage flash cards from the same Etsy shop because I loved the images. I had planned to use them in some crafty venture, but I’m not sure I have the heart to split them all up! They came as a full deck, which I kind of want to save for some kiddo who could use them for their intended purpose.

I pretty much did the same thing as the diorama ornaments, but on a slightly grander scale for our table centerpiece. I’ve been trying to eat more meals at the table, and fewer in front of the television, so I thought have something pretty to look at might help.

FullSizeRender (2)

FullSizeRender (12)

FullSizeRender (15)

Can we talk about how much I love pastel pink these days?! So much so that I’ve got partially pastel pink hair at the moment.

FullSizeRender (10)

FullSizeRender (16)

Our Christmas tree is incredibly sparsely decorated with unbreakable ornaments, because of this holy terror…

IMG_1068

FullSizeRender (6).jpg

New Kitty!

IMG_0883.JPG

His name is Louise. Yes. Pronounced the lady way – Loo-eez. This is because we thought he was a girl for the first 2 weeks, and it has proven very difficult to stop calling him that. He is a champion snuggler, an agile Christmas tree climber, and a discerning consumer of plants, dirt, and dog food. He enjoys defending the house against curtains, and biting ankles.

FullSizeRender (4).jpg

I bought a Louise-like ornament to commemorate his first Christmas with us. It’s felted (I felt), it’s a cat (I love cats), and its holding yarn (I crochet). How could I not buy it? Plus a tiny tea cup collection, because I need one more thing to buy and find room for.

FullSizeRender (7)Now to the post office to mail some Christmas packages. The line will be awful, but it will be one more thing done!

Any Christmas decorating ideas you’d like to share? I’m always looking for inspiration 🙂

6 thoughts on “A Vintage Christmas…Sorta

Leave a Reply

