Happy Valentine’s Day!

Oh I must apologize again. It’s been a long time since my last post. Things have just felt so busy! And we’ve recently learned that we need to move, as the house we are renting is being sold. It’s quite a blow actually, I’m much more sad about having to move than I thought I would be. I can finally walk around this house in the dark, and I just finished hanging up all of our pictures, and I just planted some beautiful bulbs, and it was starting to feel like home. The worst part is, this house will likely be purchased and then demolished, so that a much larger house can be built. It’s happening all over our neighborhood, and it makes me quite sad. The house across the street from ours just came down, and the older man who lived there had been living there since he was a child. So many memories knocked down and carried off in just hours. Not cool. I’m sure we’ll find a house that works for us. I’m just not looking forward to the actual looking.

Hope you were all able to celebrate Valentine’s day  in your own way. I love holidays, but we’re not much into Valentine’s Day. We each get each other something gifty…and that’s about as far as it goes. Mine is coming through the mail and arriving late, so I’m being kept in suspense! I was treated to some delicious heart shaped pancakes this morning though, and I bought myself some flowers on a whim when I did a grocery run – so we find a way to make things special w/out going overboard on spending. Saving for vacations and eventual home ownership is higher on our list at the moment.

FullSizeRender (6)

 

 

These little vintage cards were the extent of my Valentine’s decorating this year. I loved the color combo, and when I opened the one with the little girl on the front I knew I had to have it. See why?!

The dog got a special Valentine’s treat! And the cat got nothing, because he never, ever behaves. Typical.

IMG_1728

I spent the morning getting my craft on. I made some vintage inspired ornaments which I can’t put up because I can’t have a Valentine’s tree (think twigs in a jug) because the cat can’t behave. Maybe for next year. These are bordering on ugly, but I quite like them. They’re just like my Christmas ones, which I showed you here. All the little bits were ordered from various Etsy shops.

 

Mid-day was spent at a Valentine’s Day party. One of the little girls that I babysit invited us, and gifted this to Ad before we left. Such sweetness! She had made a card for everyone attending; grown ups and kids. There was massive doughnut consumption going on, so I’m quite relieved that I wasn’t around for the sugar crash (and possibly worse) that was sure to come later in the day for those two little ladies.

FullSizeRender (1)

Today’s pièce de résistance, which has nothing at all to do with Valentine’s Day, was the largely successful baking of my mom’s famous sticky buns (never called cinnamon rolls, I’m not sure why). People go nuts for these things. I’ve watched her make them dozens of times, but I’ve never tried them myself until today. They’re not exactly difficult, but they are a little bit fiddly and very time consuming. They have to raise twice, at least an hour each time. They weren’t quite right, mostly because of pan issues, but I’m pleased over all! I’ll share the recipe with you soon. They’re for my boss’s birthday. Can you tell I like him?

FullSizeRender (5)

Do you have any Valentine’s Day traditions?

3 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

