Not a post about Greece

Oh it’s been so long! When I went to bed last night I had planned on waking up today and doing a blog post to finish my Greece series, but then the dog woke me up early (why does that happen on my one day off?), and I got cranky, and I couldn’t find where the photos we took in Greece were saved (because it was a year and a half ago!) so I said screw it, and I crocheted in my pajamas and then went to the thrift store instead.

But then I felt bad.

So here is a teeny tiny blog post featuring completely unrelated photos from the past few weeks, just to show you what I’ve been up to, and to let you know that I’m still alive and kicking, and to say sorry for leaving it so long. I’m really practicing my run-on sentence construction.

Found some great fabric when I was thrifting today, and got an awesome deer vase a few weeks back from the same thrift store. I love the deer’s little disgruntled face. He looks so annoyed to have flowers shoved in his stump.

I’ve been crocheting a granny square blanket, with thrifted yarn. $2 a skein, whoop whoop!  Still quite a few rounds to go before it’s finished.

IMG_4286

And speaking of yarn, I’ve started keeping sheep!

IMG_4340

Fake, tiny, Shropshire sheep who live on a shelf and produce zero yarn. But until I get the real deal, I can look at these sweet little beauties every day.

What else… the animals are both still alive, although Louise really pushes that some days.

 

FullSizeRender (1)

It’s been really rainy, so there’s been a lot of this…

IMG_4289

but also a lot of this…

IMG_4215

The craft/guest room is almost unpacked and ready to go, so lots of cute finishing touches are going up. I’m still waiting on my antique childhood dresser, which will make the trip from PA to TX with my mom and aunt this fall. It will be home to yarn and fabric, which are currently still sitting in boxes in the corner.

IMG_4319

IMG_4334

IMG_4335

IMG_4336

I’ve been delighting in snail mail again. I go through phases, and I am so in one. One of the tiny things I enjoy most about life is getting surprise mail, so I like to send it too.

I’m so ready for autumn, not that you really get one in Houston, at least not one that suits my exacting Northern Pennsylvanian standards.

I’m in full autumn mode, beverage wise. I’m sucking down chai tea like my life depends on it, and the occasional whiskey sour. We usually make them from scratch but I picked up this mixer on a whim at World Market, and it is amazing. Seriously. It’s like fall in a cup. And I need to get some more.

IMG_4380

I’m also in full autumn mode makeup wise, so if someone could tell the seasons to hurry up and change so that my plum lipstick can be seasonably appropriate that would be great. I’ll be wearing it either way!

FullSizeRender (3)

Peace! I’m gonna go do nothing for a bit.

7 thoughts on “Not a post about Greece

  1. Live in a comfortable moment. I’ve been make up free before it was even trendy though I’ve never used much. Wish we could get back to Greece. Would love to see Eudokia and our Potter friend again. Love the place you are in. Find things that make you happy or excite you. Looking forward to more travel in the spring with your mom and Brenda. Someday you may not be able to have the adventures so grab what you can while you can. Enough sentimental stuff and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

